Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Honors and Awards

Dr Casie LeGette and graduating senior Morgan Adams at our Honors and Graduation ceremony

Honors Day awards recognize the excellent work of our undergraduate and graduate students within the department, as well as the superb teaching by our faculty and teaching assistants. This year, Honors Day was combined with our departmental graduation ceremony. These events together acknowledge the outstanding achievements of our student body and faculty members. 

Faculty Awards and Recognitions

Hugh Kenner Faculty Travel Award

Barbara McCaskill

External Faculty Awards

Cody Marrs, Choice Outstanding Academic Titles for Nineteenth-Century American Literature and the Long Civil War

Cody Marrs, Alan K. Smith Visiting Scholar at Trinity College

Nicholas Allen, Astor Visiting Lectureship at Oxford University

Roxanne Eberle, NEH Summer Seminar with University of Pittsburg

University Faculty Awards

Cynthia Turner Camp, CTL Teacher of the Week

Undergraduate Student Awards

Undergraduate Scholarship Awards

Joshua Brown Scholarship

John Malone

Runner-Up: Alexandr Tchaykov

Virginia Rucker Walter Scholarship

Marianna Hagler

Upper Division Essay/Project Awards

Digital Humanities Prize

Sarah Landry, “The Digital Pagan”

Sydney Miles, “Unearthing American Monsters”

For an Essay Using Primary Sources

Claire Brunner, “Engagement Through Disarticulation”

Honorable Mention: Shea Nolan, “The Court of Public Opinion in The Romance of a Shop and The Odd Women

For an Essay Using Secondary Sources

Alexandre Tchaykov, “The ‘Tragic Joy’ of Poetic Labor”

Honorable Mention: Alexandre Tchaykov, “Truly, the Moon Shines with a Good Grace”

Virginia Rucker Walter Poetry Award

Spencer Frost, “historicizing”

From the judge, Jeffrey Newberry, Creative Writing alumnus and Poet in Residence at the Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College: “History may indeed be a nightmare as James Joyce wrote, but it’s also a story we tell ourselves. ‘Historicizing’ understands that the membrane between public and private history is so thin that it may as well not even exist. Sliding seamless between lyric and narrative, the poem understands that history is a story told by those in power. The only way to reclaim that power is to go backwards and ‘acknowledge the void’ of the past and rewrite it from there. Those who want to ‘hear gasps’ when the speaker talk about the dead will be disappointed. This is no-styled grief. This is a poem about loss, but the poem refuses to give in to despair. Let’s tell our stories backward, but live life forwards, the poem argues; ‘let’s get a handle on it.’”

Honorable Mentions: Katherine Hare, “Tracks”; Meredith Brasher, “edifice”

First Year Composition Awards

Donald E. Barnett Awards

ENGL 1101: Christian Schoeberl, “Once Upon a Modern Time: The Importance of Hungarian Folklore in Zadie Smith’s Two Men Arrive in A Village;” Jasmin Jonson, “Should Georgia Have an Opportunity School District in 2017”

ENGL 1102: Ashley Kehoe, “Marketing Mania: An Attack on Advertising”

Michael G. Moran e-Portfolio Awards:

ENGL 1101: Danielle Pattee

ENGL 1102: Carter Hart

Graduate Student Awards

Alice C. Langdale Award (for exceptional English graduate student)

Sarah Mayo, Henna Messina, Robby Nadler, Lainie Pomerleau

Robert H. West Award (for outstanding graduate student in Creative Writing)

Gale Thompson

Robert H. West Award (for outstanding graduate student in Literary Criticism)

Ward Risvold

Robert E. Park Essay Award

Anna Forrester, “Rethinking the Transnation: Exile and the Idea of Nation in Postcolonial Narratives”

James B. Colvert English Graduate Award (supports an advanced graduate student's research)

Elizabeth Swails; Ward Risvold

Dissertation Completion Fellowship:

Ward Risvold

Summer Doctoral Research Fellowship

Paula Rawlins

Mary Lynn Oliver Hunt and Matthew Alan Hunt Graduate Studies Fellowship in English

Holly Gallagher

Graduate Dean’s Summer Doctoral Research Award

Gabrielle Fuentes

Graduate School Dean’s Award

Sarah Mayo

Innovative and Interdisciplinary Research Award

Barry Shelton


Support English at UGA

We greatly appreciate your generosity. Your gift enables us to offer our students and faculty opportunities for research, travel, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Support the efforts of the Department of English by visiting our giving section. 

Give Now